How to transfer or share wallets between computers

Hey, I’m really new to all this so everything is a bit confusing… I downloaded a ReddWallet on two different computers, and I wanted to share addresses between them. Is that possible? I tried to export a private key, but I don’t know what to put under “Public Key”… I made something up and it gave me the error of “Private Key Export Failed”. Some help would be greatly appreciated thanks!

m3ndi3
Generally speaking, sharing wallets (using the same wallet.dat) on different PC is not recommended.
Transcations that occur on 1 PC, may not get reflected to the other PC (especially if a change address is generated (adv. topic))

Do you have a specific reason to do this?
if it is just to monitor your funds… You could use the site http://reddcoin.rocks/ and enter your addresses there

2 Likes

Well I have all my RDD stored at my work Wallet, and I want to move it to my home Wallet so I can Stake there. If I just send all my funds from one wallet to the other, I have to pay a fee…

1 Like

m3ndi3

In that case i would move the wallet between the 2 PCs as required
This should be ok if each PC runs the wallet exclusively,
ie, while at work, that is the only wallet running, then you go home so you shut down the work PC
You copy the wallet.dat (eg to a USB drive) from the work PC
When you get home you copy wallet.dat to the data directory on the home PC over-writing the original
Start ReddWallet and allow to sync with the network

In essence, you are transporting around your primary wallet between 2 PCs and all actions are performed on that wallet
You should also take the opportunity to back up the wallet in a safe (2nd location) each time you do this

I make a backup everyday of my wallet.dat and put a date on it so i have something to go back to if needed

Let me know if this all makes sense

Edit: for clarity