Unofficial bootstrap.dat thread (updated every two weeks... or three).

DISCLAIMER: I’m not a developer nor associated with Reddcoin in any other way than just being a (mostly retired) member of this community, so by performing the following procedure you are ultimately putting your trust in me.

Last update: 18/02/2016

How to set up a Reddcoin wallet with the bootstrap method.

• Download the QT Wallet from www.reddcoin.com and insall it.

• Download the RDDbootsrap.zip file (links below) and uncompress it. It is recommended to check the MD5 hash (tutorials below) to guarantee its integrity.

• Copy bootstrap.dat to your data directory. After the wallet has used bootstrap.dat, the file will be renamed to bootstrap.dat.old; at this point you can choose to delete it or keep it.

1. Linux
    Reddcoin’s data directory is located in ~/.reddcoin/ by default. You can run ls -a to see directories that start with a dot.
    You can also search for the directory with the following command: find / -name wallet.dat -print 2>/dev/null

2. Mac
    Reddcoin’s data directory should be located in ~/Library/Application Support/Reddcoin/.

3. Windows
    Go to Start>Run (or press WinKey+R) and run: explorer %APPDATA%\Reddcoin
    Reddcoin’s data directory will open. “AppData” and “Application Data” are hidden by default in Windows.

• Open the wallet; now it should catch up much faster - ultimately depending on the speed of your computer.

LINKS:

MD5 HOW-TO:

• Windows: You can download a free and very easy to use tool from http://winmd5.com/

• Mac: Launch the terminal and navigate to the folder containing the file, then type “md5 RDDbootstrap.zip” and you’ll be returned with a hash that should match the one i provided with the links.

• Linux: same as with Mac; open a terminal, navigate to the containing folder and type “md5sum RDDbootstrap.zip”

PAST FILES:

Nice work Didi
Do yo plan on using only keeping 1 file there?
Or keeping a historic list.